Friday, March 13, 2009

the long awaited bryan edition

It all started out cute and sweet and maybe a bit creepy but he's kinda attractive so I wasn't so afraid. Maybe I should have been...

I guess it started way before I even knew he existed. Over the summer. I work two + jobs in Portsmouth on the same street so I’m constantly walking up and down the road. I tend to follow the same route just because well I’m not sure why I do it but I do. Never even thought of changing it. And because I was walking the same route at the same time I tended to see the same people. Not surprising.

Well what is surprising is months later I found out this one person that I saw on a regular basis actually noticed me and beyond that went out of his way to be outside right as I was walking by... and I had never said anything more than hi.

About August of this past summer, I was newly single, working a ton, always rushing from one job to the next and not really noticing my surroundings. He looked like a construction guy who wore flip flops.

It wasn't until mid December when he actually came into the bank to get some change for the restaurant that I even said anything to him. That apparently sparked him to open an account with us. That’s where he mentioned that he owned this new restaurant and asked why I hadn't been in yet. Still nothing too too weird.

That night at dinner I told my friend about this guy who opened an account and we both agreed that we should have our last Portsmouth dinner to celebrate her and her husband’s new house at four. It was my job to make the reservation.

I stopped in the next day on my lunch break. Nothing big. I had to run to the gallery and we were discussing the waterfront district marketing collaborative which was supposed to cover all state street businesses so I decided to kill two birds with one stone, mention the collaborative and make the reservation all while coolly stopping in to see the place. Well done, Emily.
Marketing, check. Tour, check. Reservation, check.
As I’m making the reservation he asks for my number, I give him a weird look. He’s like for completely professional reasons of course. I reply of course, give him the digits and don't think a thing more about it. Return to the bank and go about my day.

Well, I was doing the atms when he must have come in to get change or something cause I checked my phone and I had received a text from a new number. Actually I think I had received at least two. One saying that he didn't see me, the next saying who it was. I texted back that I was doing the atms. I feel weird leaving people hanging like that. He said I should stop by for a glass of wine after work... and I did. (Well hell what girl won't turn down free booze from a cute boy?!)

At first it was really cute. We were texting all the time, he told me how much of a crush he had had on me all summer and how he can’t believe how pretty I am or that he’d waited all summer for me to stop in the restaurant and that I was the reason why he opened an account at ocean. All the things I wanted to hear.

I’m not sure when exactly it started happening but it had to have been within that first week because it was before we actually had dinner there and I don't usually book dinner to far out. We were texting a lot, back and forth, kinda getting to know each other stuff, flirtatious, cute maybe on the boarder of sexual but just a hint. I mean who goes there with some one they've never even hung out with let alone kiss. He kept calling me trouble. I don't like that. Then he did tell me he was sorta seeing someone. Not boyfriend, girlfriend because he doesn't have time for that... but she knew about me and he thought it was fair that I knew about her. Fine whatever. Conversation over.


Or not.

The weirdest part about it is the things he would write to me. I mean things you definitely don't say unless you've already seen someone naked. I’m not going to get into specifics because I’m trying to keep this pg-13 but this was way way beyond that. But I was bored and these conversations were mildly entertaining and kept me busy for most of the day. It got to a point where I started to feel violated though. Like the only reason he wanted to talk to me was to talk dirty and I am way way more than that.

Dinner went fine. The food was good. It was a nice evening but I had to tell my friends what was going on. They were a bit freaked. Why would a guy act like this? What would start this? Why would he think this was ok? I don't get it.

I don't remember the exact specifics after that. We did continue to talk. I would constantly yell at him because he wouldn't make any effort to get to know me. I tried to get him to come to the gallery (I could throw a stick from my gallery to his restaurant and I can't throw anything... what's that tell you?) I would tell him that he made me feel like a hooker or a whore and he would counter that he would never even think that about me.

I can't even think about what happened the first time I actually saw his place. I’d obviously been drinking. He probably convinced me it was a good idea to come over and I definitely should not have been driving so I agreed. This happened three times. Things were never pg.

the texts continue. Although once they get to a point where he brings it to some place I don't want to go I stop texting. I didn't really talk to him for almost all of February. The conversations we did have were definitely taking a different route. I started to think he got it. Maybe it's just the type of person he is or what he's looking for, but it's not me.

O and I never ask about the other girl. I don’t know if there still is another girl. There could be plenty of other girls. Really. I only see him every once and a while. I thought for a moment something might actually come out of this but I’m feeling more like I just have a casual booty call. He’s very affectionate towards me, kisses my cheek, hugs me, holds my hand, and finds some way to touch me when we’re together. He also always introduces me to his friends. But not once have I spent time with him outside of one of our two workplaces. We’ve never been to a meal. He’s never been to the gallery. I see him at the bank, at the restaurant and in his apt. I’ve never even spent a day with him, just hours where I’ve either been drinking and need a place to crash or moments where we seem like normal people usually on my lunch break.

I kinda wish at some point maybe things will change and he’ll actually want to get to know me and hang out with me. He’s told me before that he wants to settle down and have a family and be happy. Via text. Then again this is coming from the same person who told me I would make a great porn star. Can’t you just be normal for once? Sheesh. He’s not the man of my dreams and I’m not going to treat it like that. This is what it is and that’s that. I should avoid him but for some reason whenever he texts I respond.

No comments:

Post a Comment